Notes on Ubuntu (Linux) computing

Brief notes on installation, setup and other tasks in the Ubuntu world

Upgrading IPython to the development version

with 2 comments

2014/05/13: It has been reported to me that recent attempts to use the install procedure detailed below have had issues. It is certain that IPython has progressed quite a bit since I wrote this post (almost two years ago). If you can’t use the version in the Ubuntu repository, I would suggest using pip and following the install instructions at the IPython website.

In a previous post I described installing IPython using the version in the repository. This installs version 0.12.1, an older release, resulting in compatibility issues with IPython notebooks saved in newer versions. As a result, I will remove the repository version and install the development version on github.

First, remove the repository version:

sudo apt-get remove ipython ipython-notebook

Note, I do not use the additional commands to remove all dependencies (mathjax, tornado, etc.) because these are still needed for the new install.

To install from github, cd to an appropriate directory and run:

git clone https://github.com/ipython/ipython.git
cd ipython
sudo python setup.py install

Now, test it out by launching a notebook:

ipython notebook --pylab inline

Thus far, everything seems to work and using the git repository allows for me to easily update versions if needed.

Written by Chris S

December 14, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Posted in Python, Ubuntu 12.04

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sorry, noob here. What is an appropriate directory as stated above? I installed in my home directory but now I can’t run ipython or ipython notebook..

    lewis

    May 13, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    • Hi Lewis,

      Those install notes are getting pretty old, but let me try to help. By an appropriate directory I meant a place where you’d remember — I keep all my git repos in a directory called “gitlocal”. In any case, that shouldn’t matter.

      If you try the whereis command:

      $whereis ipython

      do you get something sensible?

      Chris S

      May 13, 2014 at 10:53 pm


Leave a Reply

